• Log InLog In
  • Register
Liquid`
Team Liquid Liquipedia
EDT 18:28
CEST 00:28
KST 07:28
  • Home
  • Forum
  • Calendar
  • Streams
  • Liquipedia
  • Features
  • Store
  • EPT
  • TL+
  • StarCraft 2
  • Brood War
  • Smash
  • Heroes
  • Counter-Strike
  • Overwatch
  • Liquibet
  • Fantasy StarCraft
  • TLPD
  • StarCraft 2
  • Brood War
  • Blogs
Forum Sidebar
Events/Features
News
Featured News
Serral wins EWC 202534Tournament Spotlight: FEL Cracow 202510Power Rank - Esports World Cup 202580RSL Season 1 - Final Week9[ASL19] Finals Recap: Standing Tall15
Community News
[BSL 2025] H2 - Team Wars, Weeklies & SB Ladder9EWC 2025 - Replay Pack4Google Play ASL (Season 20) Announced50BSL Team Wars - Bonyth, Dewalt, Hawk & Sziky teams10Weekly Cups (July 14-20): Final Check-up0
StarCraft 2
General
The GOAT ranking of GOAT rankings Serral wins EWC 2025 Tournament Spotlight: FEL Cracow 2025 Classic: "It's a thick wall to break through to become world champ" Firefly given lifetime ban by ESIC following match-fixing investigation
Tourneys
LiuLi Cup Weeklies and Monthlies Info Sea Duckling Open (Global, Bronze-Diamond) TaeJa vs Creator Bo7 SC Evo Showmatch Sparkling Tuna Cup - Weekly Open Tournament FEL Cracov 2025 (July 27) - $10,000 live event
Strategy
How did i lose this ZvP, whats the proper response
Custom Maps
External Content
Mutation # 484 Magnetic Pull Mutation #239 Bad Weather Mutation # 483 Kill Bot Wars Mutation # 482 Wheel of Misfortune
Brood War
General
BW General Discussion Scmdraft 2 - 0.9.0 Preview [BSL 2025] H2 - Team Wars, Weeklies & SB Ladder Google Play ASL (Season 20) Announced Which top zerg/toss will fail in qualifiers?
Tourneys
[ASL20] Online Qualifiers Day 2 [ASL20] Online Qualifiers Day 1 [Megathread] Daily Proleagues Small VOD Thread 2.0
Strategy
[G] Mineral Boosting Muta micro map competition Does 1 second matter in StarCraft? Simple Questions, Simple Answers
Other Games
General Games
Stormgate/Frost Giant Megathread Nintendo Switch Thread Beyond All Reason Total Annihilation Server - TAForever [MMORPG] Tree of Savior (Successor of Ragnarok)
Dota 2
Official 'what is Dota anymore' discussion
League of Legends
Heroes of the Storm
Simple Questions, Simple Answers Heroes of the Storm 2.0
Hearthstone
Heroes of StarCraft mini-set
TL Mafia
Vanilla Mini Mafia TL Mafia Community Thread
Community
General
US Politics Mega-thread Things Aren’t Peaceful in Palestine European Politico-economics QA Mega-thread Canadian Politics Mega-thread Stop Killing Games - European Citizens Initiative
Fan Clubs
INnoVation Fan Club SKT1 Classic Fan Club!
Media & Entertainment
Anime Discussion Thread [\m/] Heavy Metal Thread Movie Discussion! [Manga] One Piece Korean Music Discussion
Sports
Formula 1 Discussion 2024 - 2025 Football Thread TeamLiquid Health and Fitness Initiative For 2023
World Cup 2022
Tech Support
Gtx660 graphics card replacement Installation of Windows 10 suck at "just a moment" Computer Build, Upgrade & Buying Resource Thread
TL Community
TeamLiquid Team Shirt On Sale The Automated Ban List
Blogs
ASL S20 English Commentary…
namkraft
The Link Between Fitness and…
TrAiDoS
momentary artworks from des…
tankgirl
from making sc maps to makin…
Husyelt
StarCraft improvement
iopq
Socialism Anyone?
GreenHorizons
Customize Sidebar...

Website Feedback

Closed Threads



Active: 606 users

SC Magic:The Gathering tournament - Page 8

Forum Index > General Games
Post a Reply
Prev 1 6 7 8 9 10 19 Next All
Stegosaur
Profile Joined May 2007
Netherlands1231 Posts
May 29 2008 11:32 GMT
#141
On May 29 2008 11:34 Krohm wrote:
I need to ask a few "noob" questions, I just played a game today I think I should of won. But my opponent said I can't do it.

#1. Can you group block creatures? (I lost the game because of this, he said you can't group block creatures... Which makes no sense. Because of the trample ability on some cards. Or can you only group block creatures with trample?)

#2. Can you play creature abilities at any time? (In one of my decks I use these merfolk cards, that have the ability T; Turn target land into an island. I tried to do this during his turn, and he said you can't do that. Now I'm positive you can, since there are wizard cards that have T; Counter target spell unless its caster pays 1.)

Now I'm almost positive you can do both.


1: Yes, you can groupblock creatures. Your opponent will decide who gets the damage though. There's no exception to this rule, unless the card says something like 'can only be blocked by 1 creature'.

2: You can play creature abilities at any time, withing some limits. 1: The abilities that require your creature to tap can only be played if it was under your control when the turn started (summoning sickness) and 2: Sometimes the ability says 'play as a sorcery' which can only be used during your own main phases.
So if your merfolk didn't have summoning sickness you could have turned his land into an island. BUT, mana-abilities will always be 'faster' than normal abilities, including tapping lands for mana. What this means is, for example, you'd use the ability on a mountain your opponent controls, and in reaction to this he can tap it for red mana before it turns into an island. You could even try to respond to him trying to tap his mountain for red mana, by turning it into an island, but he'd still get his red mana because mana-producing abilities get priority over everything else.
O_o
Krohm
Profile Blog Joined May 2007
Canada1857 Posts
Last Edited: 2008-05-29 12:32:19
May 29 2008 11:58 GMT
#142
On May 29 2008 20:32 Stegosaur wrote:
Show nested quote +
On May 29 2008 11:34 Krohm wrote:
I need to ask a few "noob" questions, I just played a game today I think I should of won. But my opponent said I can't do it.

#1. Can you group block creatures? (I lost the game because of this, he said you can't group block creatures... Which makes no sense. Because of the trample ability on some cards. Or can you only group block creatures with trample?)

#2. Can you play creature abilities at any time? (In one of my decks I use these merfolk cards, that have the ability T; Turn target land into an island. I tried to do this during his turn, and he said you can't do that. Now I'm positive you can, since there are wizard cards that have T; Counter target spell unless its caster pays 1.)

Now I'm almost positive you can do both.


1: Yes, you can groupblock creatures. Your opponent will decide who gets the damage though. There's no exception to this rule, unless the card says something like 'can only be blocked by 1 creature'.

2: You can play creature abilities at any time, withing some limits. 1: The abilities that require your creature to tap can only be played if it was under your control when the turn started (summoning sickness) and 2: Sometimes the ability says 'play as a sorcery' which can only be used during your own main phases.
So if your merfolk didn't have summoning sickness you could have turned his land into an island. BUT, mana-abilities will always be 'faster' than normal abilities, including tapping lands for mana. What this means is, for example, you'd use the ability on a mountain your opponent controls, and in reaction to this he can tap it for red mana before it turns into an island. You could even try to respond to him trying to tap his mountain for red mana, by turning it into an island, but he'd still get his red mana because mana-producing abilities get priority over everything else.

Well that's completely ridiculous that land takes priority. Hence "stalling" cards, which can let you tap a persons land. What would be the point of those cards then? This is also applied to many other things, such as destroying lands with a card. Does that mean, they can tap them and use them for mana before they're destroyed? I really don't think that's right.

Oh another thing, can tokens be sacrificed for a specific card that would require a sacrifice?
Not bad for a cat toy.
Stegosaur
Profile Joined May 2007
Netherlands1231 Posts
Last Edited: 2008-05-29 17:21:46
May 29 2008 17:16 GMT
#143
On May 29 2008 20:58 Krohm wrote:
Show nested quote +
On May 29 2008 20:32 Stegosaur wrote:
On May 29 2008 11:34 Krohm wrote:
I need to ask a few "noob" questions, I just played a game today I think I should of won. But my opponent said I can't do it.

#1. Can you group block creatures? (I lost the game because of this, he said you can't group block creatures... Which makes no sense. Because of the trample ability on some cards. Or can you only group block creatures with trample?)

#2. Can you play creature abilities at any time? (In one of my decks I use these merfolk cards, that have the ability T; Turn target land into an island. I tried to do this during his turn, and he said you can't do that. Now I'm positive you can, since there are wizard cards that have T; Counter target spell unless its caster pays 1.)

Now I'm almost positive you can do both.


1: Yes, you can groupblock creatures. Your opponent will decide who gets the damage though. There's no exception to this rule, unless the card says something like 'can only be blocked by 1 creature'.

2: You can play creature abilities at any time, withing some limits. 1: The abilities that require your creature to tap can only be played if it was under your control when the turn started (summoning sickness) and 2: Sometimes the ability says 'play as a sorcery' which can only be used during your own main phases.
So if your merfolk didn't have summoning sickness you could have turned his land into an island. BUT, mana-abilities will always be 'faster' than normal abilities, including tapping lands for mana. What this means is, for example, you'd use the ability on a mountain your opponent controls, and in reaction to this he can tap it for red mana before it turns into an island. You could even try to respond to him trying to tap his mountain for red mana, by turning it into an island, but he'd still get his red mana because mana-producing abilities get priority over everything else.

Well that's completely ridiculous that land takes priority. Hence "stalling" cards, which can let you tap a persons land. What would be the point of those cards then? This is also applied to many other things, such as destroying lands with a card. Does that mean, they can tap them and use them for mana before they're destroyed? I really don't think that's right.

Oh another thing, can tokens be sacrificed for a specific card that would require a sacrifice?


Yes, token creatures count as creatures as well. If you'd use a serpent generator to make a 1/1 artifact creature token you could sacrifice the token for something that required an artifact to be sacrificed as well.

About the stalling cards and responding to lands, you should use the card during upkeeps or attackphases. If I tap my Gaea's Cradle for mana, you can't respond to it by quickly tapping it with your icy manipulator, but you *can* tap it during my upkeep. I could still tap it for mana in response, but I would get manaburn at the end of my upkeep phase since I probably wouldn't have anything to spend it on.
So yes, you're supposed to tap lands in advance, if you were to tap lands.

Edit: Yes, you can also tap them in response to destroy effects to get one last mana out of them. Then again, you can use creature abilities in response to effects that kill them as well, just like enchantments, artifacts, anything that can be played on instant speed.

Better yet: If I had an avatar of woe for example, my opponent plays a swords to plowshares on it, killing it off. I could tap it in response, and get a creature kill, before it would die. My opponent could respond to the effect of my avatar of woe with another swords to plowshares, and it would die, but it would still get its kill, because I already payed the activation cost and the effect already got in its place on the stack, which is then resolved from the last played effect to the first.

It would look something like this:

---top---

Swords to Plowshares nr 2 -> Destroys my avatar of woe
Avatar of Woe effect -> Destroys a creature of my choice, even though the avatar is gone
Swords to Plowshares nr 1 -> Does nothing due to lack of target and goes to GY

---bottom---
O_o
kirtar111
Profile Joined May 2007
United States72 Posts
May 29 2008 19:55 GMT
#144
On May 30 2008 02:16 Stegosaur wrote:
Show nested quote +
On May 29 2008 20:58 Krohm wrote:
On May 29 2008 20:32 Stegosaur wrote:
On May 29 2008 11:34 Krohm wrote:
I need to ask a few "noob" questions, I just played a game today I think I should of won. But my opponent said I can't do it.

#1. Can you group block creatures? (I lost the game because of this, he said you can't group block creatures... Which makes no sense. Because of the trample ability on some cards. Or can you only group block creatures with trample?)

#2. Can you play creature abilities at any time? (In one of my decks I use these merfolk cards, that have the ability T; Turn target land into an island. I tried to do this during his turn, and he said you can't do that. Now I'm positive you can, since there are wizard cards that have T; Counter target spell unless its caster pays 1.)

Now I'm almost positive you can do both.


1: Yes, you can groupblock creatures. Your opponent will decide who gets the damage though. There's no exception to this rule, unless the card says something like 'can only be blocked by 1 creature'.

2: You can play creature abilities at any time, withing some limits. 1: The abilities that require your creature to tap can only be played if it was under your control when the turn started (summoning sickness) and 2: Sometimes the ability says 'play as a sorcery' which can only be used during your own main phases.
So if your merfolk didn't have summoning sickness you could have turned his land into an island. BUT, mana-abilities will always be 'faster' than normal abilities, including tapping lands for mana. What this means is, for example, you'd use the ability on a mountain your opponent controls, and in reaction to this he can tap it for red mana before it turns into an island. You could even try to respond to him trying to tap his mountain for red mana, by turning it into an island, but he'd still get his red mana because mana-producing abilities get priority over everything else.

Well that's completely ridiculous that land takes priority. Hence "stalling" cards, which can let you tap a persons land. What would be the point of those cards then? This is also applied to many other things, such as destroying lands with a card. Does that mean, they can tap them and use them for mana before they're destroyed? I really don't think that's right.

Oh another thing, can tokens be sacrificed for a specific card that would require a sacrifice?


Yes, token creatures count as creatures as well. If you'd use a serpent generator to make a 1/1 artifact creature token you could sacrifice the token for something that required an artifact to be sacrificed as well.

About the stalling cards and responding to lands, you should use the card during upkeeps or attackphases. If I tap my Gaea's Cradle for mana, you can't respond to it by quickly tapping it with your icy manipulator, but you *can* tap it during my upkeep. I could still tap it for mana in response, but I would get manaburn at the end of my upkeep phase since I probably wouldn't have anything to spend it on.
So yes, you're supposed to tap lands in advance, if you were to tap lands.

Edit: Yes, you can also tap them in response to destroy effects to get one last mana out of them. Then again, you can use creature abilities in response to effects that kill them as well, just like enchantments, artifacts, anything that can be played on instant speed.

Better yet: If I had an avatar of woe for example, my opponent plays a swords to plowshares on it, killing it off. I could tap it in response, and get a creature kill, before it would die. My opponent could respond to the effect of my avatar of woe with another swords to plowshares, and it would die, but it would still get its kill, because I already payed the activation cost and the effect already got in its place on the stack, which is then resolved from the last played effect to the first.

It would look something like this:

---top---

Swords to Plowshares nr 2 -> Destroys my avatar of woe
Avatar of Woe effect -> Destroys a creature of my choice, even though the avatar is gone
Swords to Plowshares nr 1 -> Does nothing due to lack of target and goes to GY

---bottom---


Actually you wouldn't manaburn from the cradle mana until the end of your draw phase
Jogoling
Demoninja
Profile Blog Joined April 2007
United States1190 Posts
May 29 2008 21:33 GMT
#145
If I use Gorilla Shamans ability to kill a chrome mox, I only pay one right?
Artanis[Xp]
Profile Blog Joined December 2005
Netherlands12968 Posts
May 29 2008 23:46 GMT
#146
Correct, Demoninja.
Krohm
Profile Blog Joined May 2007
Canada1857 Posts
May 30 2008 02:44 GMT
#147
Another MTG question.

Do you lose the game, Example; if there is 4 howling mines in play. But you only have 1-4 cards to draw? I mean, this is something I'm not sure about. Because you would be drawing your initial 1 card. Which is required for you to not lose the game.
Not bad for a cat toy.
FragKrag
Profile Blog Joined September 2007
United States11552 Posts
May 30 2008 02:46 GMT
#148
Then you lose when you can't draw the next turn.
*TL CJ Entusman #40* "like scissors does anything to paper except MAKE IT MORE NUMEROUS" -paper
Krohm
Profile Blog Joined May 2007
Canada1857 Posts
May 30 2008 03:01 GMT
#149
Well Technically I couldn't of died, the game was stale mated pretty much. I have 4 Serras Avatars in my deck, so when ever I discard it goes back into my library, I could of kept doing that, until eventually he out grinded himself because of the 4 howling mines in play. I didn't bother arguing it though, because I wasn't sure.
Not bad for a cat toy.
FragKrag
Profile Blog Joined September 2007
United States11552 Posts
Last Edited: 2008-05-30 03:13:49
May 30 2008 03:11 GMT
#150
As long as you can draw, you are in the game.
*TL CJ Entusman #40* "like scissors does anything to paper except MAKE IT MORE NUMEROUS" -paper
Wonders
Profile Blog Joined September 2006
Australia753 Posts
May 30 2008 04:14 GMT
#151
On May 29 2008 01:26 Spinfusor wrote:
I assume you're talking about reanimator decks.

Also, turn 2/3 average goldfishes are pretty unlikely. Under the currect rules: Flash is illegal, storm combo (except maybe Empty the Warrens which I quit long before it was popular) is unplayable w/o moxen, Ichorid is illegal, Tyrant is illegal, Bomberman is better with control etc. Only Dragon/FCG can really pull it off imo, but they are both easily hated out.

Every non-combo deck in vintage needs disruption (be it Force of Will, Duress, Sphere of Resistance or whatever suits your deck). Even the turn 2/3 combo deck Flash tends to have a full complement of Force of Wills (though admittedly they are more to protect the combo rather than stop another from going off).


I think this is intended to be a fun tournament where everyone can do their thing. I doubt many people will be packing turn 1/2 disruption, so the 'glass cannon' decks are just going to get a free ride. Two decks in legacy that have pretty reliable turn 2 goldfishes that I can think of are belcher and draw 4.
kirtar111
Profile Joined May 2007
United States72 Posts
May 30 2008 05:11 GMT
#152
the tournament is the same day as M:tG regionals
unfortunate coincidence...
Jogoling
Spinfusor
Profile Joined June 2007
Australia410 Posts
May 30 2008 09:13 GMT
#153
On May 30 2008 13:14 Wonders wrote:I think this is intended to be a fun tournament where everyone can do their thing. I doubt many people will be packing turn 1/2 disruption, so the 'glass cannon' decks are just going to get a free ride. Two decks in legacy that have pretty reliable turn 2 goldfishes that I can think of are belcher and draw 4.

But Lotus Petal, LED etc. are unrestricted in Legacy. I've never seen a decent belcher list with more than 2 lands, so I seriously doubt that without solomoxen and restricted petal/LED/other mox belcher is viable. But then again, I don't play Legacy, so who knows? Maybe SSG pushes it over.
trollbone
Profile Blog Joined July 2007
France1905 Posts
May 30 2008 10:02 GMT
#154
token creature goes to the graveyard ?
Artanis[Xp]
Profile Blog Joined December 2005
Netherlands12968 Posts
May 30 2008 11:40 GMT
#155
token creatures cease to be when they die. They don't go to the graveyard or the RFG-zone, they simple get removed.
Lemonwalrus
Profile Blog Joined August 2006
United States5465 Posts
Last Edited: 2008-05-30 15:11:25
May 30 2008 15:06 GMT
#156
On May 30 2008 20:40 Artanis[Xp] wrote:
token creatures cease to be when they die. They don't go to the graveyard or the RFG-zone, they simple get removed.

Incorrect, they hit the graveyard for any abilities that them going to the graveyard would trigger, and THEN they cease to exist.

For example, a dead token would trigger Fecundity.

Edit:

Specific rules regarding this.
# 216.3 - A token in a zone other than the in-play zone ceases to exist. This is a state-based effect. (Note that a token changing zones sets off triggered abilities before the token ceases to exist.) [CompRules 2007/02/01]
# 216.4 - A token that has left play can't come back into play. If such a token would return to play, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based effects are checked. [CompRules 2007/02/01]
dyodyo
Profile Blog Joined December 2005
Philippines578 Posts
May 30 2008 15:33 GMT
#157
On May 31 2008 00:06 Lemonwalrus wrote:
Show nested quote +
On May 30 2008 20:40 Artanis[Xp] wrote:
token creatures cease to be when they die. They don't go to the graveyard or the RFG-zone, they simple get removed.

Incorrect, they hit the graveyard for any abilities that them going to the graveyard would trigger, and THEN they cease to exist.

For example, a dead token would trigger Fecundity.

Edit:

Specific rules regarding this.
# 216.3 - A token in a zone other than the in-play zone ceases to exist. This is a state-based effect. (Note that a token changing zones sets off triggered abilities before the token ceases to exist.) [CompRules 2007/02/01]
# 216.4 - A token that has left play can't come back into play. If such a token would return to play, it remains in its current zone instead. It ceases to exist the next time state-based effects are checked. [CompRules 2007/02/01]


And that is how I love (at least previously) M:TG. The possibilities of card interaction is near limitless.

Question: Can there be "obs" in MWS games?
TeamLiquid CJ Entusman #26
Caller
Profile Blog Joined September 2007
Poland8075 Posts
May 30 2008 15:41 GMT
#158
On May 30 2008 02:16 Stegosaur wrote:
Show nested quote +
On May 29 2008 20:58 Krohm wrote:
On May 29 2008 20:32 Stegosaur wrote:
On May 29 2008 11:34 Krohm wrote:
I need to ask a few "noob" questions, I just played a game today I think I should of won. But my opponent said I can't do it.

#1. Can you group block creatures? (I lost the game because of this, he said you can't group block creatures... Which makes no sense. Because of the trample ability on some cards. Or can you only group block creatures with trample?)

#2. Can you play creature abilities at any time? (In one of my decks I use these merfolk cards, that have the ability T; Turn target land into an island. I tried to do this during his turn, and he said you can't do that. Now I'm positive you can, since there are wizard cards that have T; Counter target spell unless its caster pays 1.)

Now I'm almost positive you can do both.


1: Yes, you can groupblock creatures. Your opponent will decide who gets the damage though. There's no exception to this rule, unless the card says something like 'can only be blocked by 1 creature'.

2: You can play creature abilities at any time, withing some limits. 1: The abilities that require your creature to tap can only be played if it was under your control when the turn started (summoning sickness) and 2: Sometimes the ability says 'play as a sorcery' which can only be used during your own main phases.
So if your merfolk didn't have summoning sickness you could have turned his land into an island. BUT, mana-abilities will always be 'faster' than normal abilities, including tapping lands for mana. What this means is, for example, you'd use the ability on a mountain your opponent controls, and in reaction to this he can tap it for red mana before it turns into an island. You could even try to respond to him trying to tap his mountain for red mana, by turning it into an island, but he'd still get his red mana because mana-producing abilities get priority over everything else.

Well that's completely ridiculous that land takes priority. Hence "stalling" cards, which can let you tap a persons land. What would be the point of those cards then? This is also applied to many other things, such as destroying lands with a card. Does that mean, they can tap them and use them for mana before they're destroyed? I really don't think that's right.

Oh another thing, can tokens be sacrificed for a specific card that would require a sacrifice?


Yes, token creatures count as creatures as well. If you'd use a serpent generator to make a 1/1 artifact creature token you could sacrifice the token for something that required an artifact to be sacrificed as well.

About the stalling cards and responding to lands, you should use the card during upkeeps or attackphases. If I tap my Gaea's Cradle for mana, you can't respond to it by quickly tapping it with your icy manipulator, but you *can* tap it during my upkeep. I could still tap it for mana in response, but I would get manaburn at the end of my upkeep phase since I probably wouldn't have anything to spend it on.
So yes, you're supposed to tap lands in advance, if you were to tap lands.

Edit: Yes, you can also tap them in response to destroy effects to get one last mana out of them. Then again, you can use creature abilities in response to effects that kill them as well, just like enchantments, artifacts, anything that can be played on instant speed.

Better yet: If I had an avatar of woe for example, my opponent plays a swords to plowshares on it, killing it off. I could tap it in response, and get a creature kill, before it would die. My opponent could respond to the effect of my avatar of woe with another swords to plowshares, and it would die, but it would still get its kill, because I already payed the activation cost and the effect already got in its place on the stack, which is then resolved from the last played effect to the first.

It would look something like this:

---top---

Swords to Plowshares nr 2 -> Destroys my avatar of woe
Avatar of Woe effect -> Destroys a creature of my choice, even though the avatar is gone
Swords to Plowshares nr 1 -> Does nothing due to lack of target and goes to GY

---bottom---


wait that doesn't seem right somehow, like with morphling for instance, when would i use my untargetable nonesense, if someone lightning bolts a morphling, and i pay for the untargetable nonesense in response, what happens?

do i have to play it in response to them tapping for mana? like, they tap 3 lands, and i say in response to you tapping ur lands i make my morphling untargetable?
Watch me fail at Paradox: http://www.teamliquid.net/forum/viewmessage.php?topic_id=397564
dyodyo
Profile Blog Joined December 2005
Philippines578 Posts
Last Edited: 2008-05-30 15:58:11
May 30 2008 15:55 GMT
#159
On May 31 2008 00:41 Caller wrote:
Show nested quote +
On May 30 2008 02:16 Stegosaur wrote:
On May 29 2008 20:58 Krohm wrote:
On May 29 2008 20:32 Stegosaur wrote:
On May 29 2008 11:34 Krohm wrote:
I need to ask a few "noob" questions, I just played a game today I think I should of won. But my opponent said I can't do it.

#1. Can you group block creatures? (I lost the game because of this, he said you can't group block creatures... Which makes no sense. Because of the trample ability on some cards. Or can you only group block creatures with trample?)

#2. Can you play creature abilities at any time? (In one of my decks I use these merfolk cards, that have the ability T; Turn target land into an island. I tried to do this during his turn, and he said you can't do that. Now I'm positive you can, since there are wizard cards that have T; Counter target spell unless its caster pays 1.)

Now I'm almost positive you can do both.


1: Yes, you can groupblock creatures. Your opponent will decide who gets the damage though. There's no exception to this rule, unless the card says something like 'can only be blocked by 1 creature'.

2: You can play creature abilities at any time, withing some limits. 1: The abilities that require your creature to tap can only be played if it was under your control when the turn started (summoning sickness) and 2: Sometimes the ability says 'play as a sorcery' which can only be used during your own main phases.
So if your merfolk didn't have summoning sickness you could have turned his land into an island. BUT, mana-abilities will always be 'faster' than normal abilities, including tapping lands for mana. What this means is, for example, you'd use the ability on a mountain your opponent controls, and in reaction to this he can tap it for red mana before it turns into an island. You could even try to respond to him trying to tap his mountain for red mana, by turning it into an island, but he'd still get his red mana because mana-producing abilities get priority over everything else.

Well that's completely ridiculous that land takes priority. Hence "stalling" cards, which can let you tap a persons land. What would be the point of those cards then? This is also applied to many other things, such as destroying lands with a card. Does that mean, they can tap them and use them for mana before they're destroyed? I really don't think that's right.

Oh another thing, can tokens be sacrificed for a specific card that would require a sacrifice?


Yes, token creatures count as creatures as well. If you'd use a serpent generator to make a 1/1 artifact creature token you could sacrifice the token for something that required an artifact to be sacrificed as well.

About the stalling cards and responding to lands, you should use the card during upkeeps or attackphases. If I tap my Gaea's Cradle for mana, you can't respond to it by quickly tapping it with your icy manipulator, but you *can* tap it during my upkeep. I could still tap it for mana in response, but I would get manaburn at the end of my upkeep phase since I probably wouldn't have anything to spend it on.
So yes, you're supposed to tap lands in advance, if you were to tap lands.

Edit: Yes, you can also tap them in response to destroy effects to get one last mana out of them. Then again, you can use creature abilities in response to effects that kill them as well, just like enchantments, artifacts, anything that can be played on instant speed.

Better yet: If I had an avatar of woe for example, my opponent plays a swords to plowshares on it, killing it off. I could tap it in response, and get a creature kill, before it would die. My opponent could respond to the effect of my avatar of woe with another swords to plowshares, and it would die, but it would still get its kill, because I already payed the activation cost and the effect already got in its place on the stack, which is then resolved from the last played effect to the first.

It would look something like this:

---top---

Swords to Plowshares nr 2 -> Destroys my avatar of woe
Avatar of Woe effect -> Destroys a creature of my choice, even though the avatar is gone
Swords to Plowshares nr 1 -> Does nothing due to lack of target and goes to GY

---bottom---


wait that doesn't seem right somehow, like with morphling for instance, when would i use my untargetable nonesense, if someone lightning bolts a morphling, and i pay for the untargetable nonesense in response, what happens?

do i have to play it in response to them tapping for mana? like, they tap 3 lands, and i say in response to you tapping ur lands i make my morphling untargetable?


This would look like this on the stack:

Morphling effect resolves -> it is untargettable by spells and effects till end of turn
Lightning bolt resolves -> original target (morphling) is now invalid. Either you find another target or it just fizzles if there are no more creatures.

I just dont remember if your forced to target your own creature if your opponent does not have any other target-able creature. Or if you can decide that the spell should just fizzle.

You respond to the effect not on the the tapping of the lands. Remember that its Last In-First Out when resolving spells on the stack.

Afaik, this is what will happen. Any current players more knowledgeable please point out if im wrong.
TeamLiquid CJ Entusman #26
VoV
Profile Joined May 2003
United Kingdom32 Posts
May 30 2008 16:00 GMT
#160
On May 31 2008 00:41 Caller wrote:

wait that doesn't seem right somehow, like with morphling for instance, when would i use my untargetable nonesense, if someone lightning bolts a morphling, and i pay for the untargetable nonesense in response, what happens?

do i have to play it in response to them tapping for mana? like, they tap 3 lands, and i say in response to you tapping ur lands i make my morphling untargetable?


1. You can't respond to people tapping lands for mana. You can only respond after the spell/ability they want to cast has been played.

2. For your morphling example:

Your opponent lightning bolts your morphling!
In response you play the untargetable ability.

Spells and abilities in magic work on a first in, last out basis. Once all the spells/abilities have been played, the 'stack' resolves. So in the above example.

Your untargetable ability resolves first because it is the last spell/ability cast.
The lightning bolt resolves. However it now has an illegal target and fizzles.

Another example:

Your opponent lightning bolts your morphling!
You play the untargetable ability in response
Your opponent lightning bolts the morphling again.
You're out of mana and can't play the ability, so you have to let the stack resolve.

The lightning bolt was the last spell cast so it resolves first. The morphling receives 3 damage and hits the graveyard before the untargetable ability resolves. It dies.
Prev 1 6 7 8 9 10 19 Next All
Please log in or register to reply.
Live Events Refresh
Next event in 11h 33m
[ Submit Event ]
Live Streams
Refresh
StarCraft 2
NeuroSwarm 280
ProTech44
StarCraft: Brood War
Zeus 186
ggaemo 168
firebathero 143
Aegong 34
Dota 2
syndereN692
monkeys_forever46
League of Legends
Grubby3930
JimRising 432
Reynor92
Counter-Strike
Stewie2K671
Heroes of the Storm
Khaldor322
Other Games
tarik_tv28076
gofns11683
summit1g9991
fl0m1078
shahzam417
Organizations
Other Games
gamesdonequick1500
StarCraft 2
angryscii 40
Other Games
BasetradeTV35
StarCraft 2
Blizzard YouTube
StarCraft: Brood War
BSLTrovo
sctven
[ Show 18 non-featured ]
StarCraft 2
• Berry_CruncH193
• davetesta45
• RyuSc2 28
• tFFMrPink 25
• Kozan
• AfreecaTV YouTube
• intothetv
• sooper7s
• IndyKCrew
• LaughNgamezSOOP
• Migwel
StarCraft: Brood War
• HerbMon 68
• STPLYoutube
• ZZZeroYoutube
• BSLYoutube
Dota 2
• masondota22078
Other Games
• imaqtpie1354
• Shiphtur210
Upcoming Events
Sparkling Tuna Cup
11h 33m
BSL20 Non-Korean Champi…
15h 33m
Bonyth vs TBD
WardiTV European League
17h 33m
ByuN vs ShoWTimE
HeRoMaRinE vs MaxPax
Wardi Open
1d 12h
OSC
2 days
uThermal 2v2 Circuit
3 days
The PondCast
4 days
Replay Cast
5 days
uThermal 2v2 Circuit
5 days
RSL Revival
6 days
[ Show More ]
RSL Revival
6 days
uThermal 2v2 Circuit
6 days
Liquipedia Results

Completed

BSL 20 Non-Korean Championship
FEL Cracow 2025
Underdog Cup #2

Ongoing

Copa Latinoamericana 4
Jiahua Invitational
BSL 20 Team Wars
KCM Race Survival 2025 Season 3
BSL 21 Qualifiers
ASL Season 20: Qualifier #1
HCC Europe
CC Div. A S7
IEM Cologne 2025
FISSURE Playground #1
BLAST.tv Austin Major 2025
ESL Impact League Season 7
IEM Dallas 2025

Upcoming

ASL Season 20: Qualifier #2
ASL Season 20
CSLPRO Chat StarLAN 3
BSL Season 21
RSL Revival: Season 2
Maestros of the Game
SEL Season 2 Championship
WardiTV Summer 2025
uThermal 2v2 Main Event
Thunderpick World Champ.
MESA Nomadic Masters Fall
CAC 2025
Roobet Cup 2025
ESL Pro League S22
StarSeries Fall 2025
FISSURE Playground #2
BLAST Open Fall 2025
BLAST Open Fall Qual
Esports World Cup 2025
BLAST Bounty Fall 2025
BLAST Bounty Fall Qual
TLPD

1. ByuN
2. TY
3. Dark
4. Solar
5. Stats
6. Nerchio
7. sOs
8. soO
9. INnoVation
10. Elazer
1. Rain
2. Flash
3. EffOrt
4. Last
5. Bisu
6. Soulkey
7. Mini
8. Sharp
Sidebar Settings...

Advertising | Privacy Policy | Terms Of Use | Contact Us

Original banner artwork: Jim Warren
The contents of this webpage are copyright © 2025 TLnet. All Rights Reserved.