I wonder how much it'd cost to sleeve up Elves now for Modern...
Magic: The Gathering - Page 344
| Forum Index > General Games |
|
Kinie
United States3106 Posts
I wonder how much it'd cost to sleeve up Elves now for Modern... | ||
|
Judicator
United States7270 Posts
| ||
|
Risen
United States7927 Posts
Edit: Geist maindeckable again with this guy topping the curve at 4? UWR Tempo go. 4 reckoners and 4 geists make 8 amazing 3 drops. | ||
|
deth2munkies
United States4051 Posts
On April 08 2013 15:04 Kinie wrote: Quick question: By combo Elves, you mean the Legacy-legal Elves deck? The one that has like 95% of it's cards either Modern legal or similar, Modern-legal equivalents, and the only reason it's not seeing play in Modern is cause Glimpse is banned? And Beck is literally 1 mana more than Glimpse? I wonder how much it'd cost to sleeve up Elves now for Modern... Blue also adds Master Biomancer if you go Elfball over combo. | ||
|
Cel.erity
United States4890 Posts
On April 08 2013 13:37 KonekoTyriin wrote: I was just watching the SCG Legacy Open finals and there was a play I was somewhat confused by from a rules perspective. I hope some of you can illuminate for me how this play functioned within the rules. + Show Spoiler + The Goblins player controls a Goblin Lackey. The Jund player has a tapped Deathrite Shaman and a Tarmogoyf, currently 1/2 because only lands are in graveyards. The Goblin Lackey attacks and is blocked by the Tarmogoyf. The Goblins player then casts Pyrokinesis for free, targeting both the Shaman and the Goyf. Both players remove all their creatures from the table. Okay so why did Tarmogoyf die? Either Pyrokinesis was played before combat damage or after it. If it was played first, then it hits Deathrite and Tarmogoyf for 2 each, at the same time growing Tarmogoyf briefly to 2/3 before the Deathrite dies, bringing the Goyf to 3/4 with only two damage marked, comfortably eating Goblin Lackey with only 3 total damage assigned to it. If it was played after combat damage, then Goblin Lackey is already dead, so Tarmogoyf is already a 2/3, and Pyrokinesis once again assigns 2 damage while growing the Goyf, once again ending with a 3/4 Tarmogoyf with 3 damage marked. If I'm wrong about the Tarmogoyf/burn spell interaction then the Goblins player would obviously just kill both creatures before attacking so he can hit and get a Lackey trigger. So something intricate is going on here with the combat damage. Anyone? Yeah, there's no way to kill Tarmogoyf and Shaman in that situation. I guess Max constructed a scenario where he didn't account for the Deathrite Shaman giving Tarmogoyf +1/+1, and everyone missed it. | ||
|
Judicator
United States7270 Posts
On April 08 2013 15:28 Risen wrote: I shall disagree with you. I think he's better than Sorin. His colors are certainly more competitive, in my opinion. I think his ability to -2 and remove something is VERY relevant. T3 reckoner, T4 ral? T4 verdict, T5 ral? What would you rather do the turn after a wipe instead of cast this guy? Hold up counter magic? I wouldn't. Edit: Geist maindeckable again with this guy topping the curve at 4? UWR Tempo go. 4 reckoners and 4 geists make 8 amazing 3 drops. Please inform the rest of us of a board state post Wrath where Ral does anything besides serving as an overpriced Bolt. I would want to cast an actual threat, not durdle on a PW that does literal nothing in a PW deck. Also there isnt a tempo deck in the format, even UWR Flash isnt a tempo or aggro-control deck as it plays much more like midrange. Devour Flesh and Verdict solved all the problem cards that the old Delver decks presented by blanking so mamy formerly great lines. | ||
|
Shotcoder
United States2316 Posts
On April 08 2013 16:24 Cel.erity wrote: Yeah, there's no way to kill Tarmogoyf and Shaman in that situation. I guess Max constructed a scenario where he didn't account for the Deathrite Shaman giving Tarmogoyf +1/+1, and everyone missed it. What did he pitch? Goyf doesn't just grow, if he pitched a copy of a card already in the yard then it's negligible. | ||
|
Judicator
United States7270 Posts
| ||
|
spinesheath
Germany8679 Posts
On April 08 2013 21:49 Shotcoder wrote: What did he pitch? Goyf doesn't just grow, if he pitched a copy of a card already in the yard then it's negligible. He said it was 1/2 due to lands in the graveyards. Can't be anything else other than lands or it would be bigger. | ||
|
MCMcEmcee
United States1609 Posts
I like Ral Zarek, he's not insane but he seems fine. T3 reckoner, t4 ral + untap and leave first strike up. Or staticaster ping untap ping. | ||
|
Shotcoder
United States2316 Posts
Edit: wtf it says remove it from the game, so no matter what he pitches to the card he can kill both. Idk why he would let the goyf block. Edit2: I guess the line is to let the goyf take damage just incase he had a burn spell in hand like bolt. COnsidering the Shaman is tapped he probably used it to generate mana. leaving 1 up for bolt. So you swing in with lackey. Let damage resolve. Goyf goes to 2/3 and you finish both creatures with 2 damage to each. | ||
|
spinesheath
Germany8679 Posts
On April 08 2013 22:59 Shotcoder wrote: 1/2 goyf, swing in with lackey. 2/3 goyf with 1 damage. Pitch red creature kills both of them... Edit: wtf it says remove it from the game, so no matter what he pitches to the card he can kill both. Idk why he would let the goyf block. Pyrokinesis goes to the graveyard during resolution. Only once it has resolved completely, lethal damage is checked. Therefore Goyf becomes a 3/4 with 3 damage. | ||
|
deth2munkies
United States4051 Posts
On April 08 2013 22:59 Shotcoder wrote: 1/2 goyf, swing in with lackey. 2/3 goyf with 1 damage. Pitch red creature kills both of them... Edit: wtf it says remove it from the game, so no matter what he pitches to the card he can kill both. Idk why he would let the goyf block. Pyrokenisis goes to the graveyard when it puts its effect on the stack, making the graveyard tally Land/Instant, making Goyf 2/3. The Deathrite goes to the graveyard before combat damage and makes him a 3/4 with 2 damage that definitely eats the lackey. | ||
|
Shotcoder
United States2316 Posts
On April 08 2013 23:12 spinesheath wrote: Pyrokinesis goes to the graveyard during resolution. Only once it has resolved completely, lethal damage is checked. Therefore Goyf becomes a 3/4 with 3 damage. No it stays on the stack just like any other card...Damage resolves as the card is cast, not as it hits the yard. | ||
|
slyboogie
United States3423 Posts
On April 08 2013 23:17 Shotcoder wrote: No it stays on the stack just like any other card...Damage resolves as the card is cast, not as it hits the yard. Are you sure? I think this is what people think when they bolt goyfs and they don't die. | ||
|
spinesheath
Germany8679 Posts
The RUG Delver player has a Tarmogoyf in play. It is a 2/3, thanks to a Ponder and a Misty Rainforest in the graveyard played the previous turn. Those are the only two cards in the graveyard. Then, the burn player Lightning Bolts the Tarmogoyf! He’s dead, Jim. Well… not quite. Tarmogoyf lives. That’s because of the way state based actions and spells resolving works. State-based actions are the things that destroy creatures when they have lethal damage on them, make a player lose the game when they are at 0 life, etc. They are only checked the moment before a player would receive priority. The thing is, no player receives priority during the resolution of a spell, and so state-based actions aren’t checked during this time. For example, you can Lightning Helix yourself when you are at 3 life, and you will not lose the game because state-based actions are only checked after the Helix resolves. At which point, you are above 0 life. That’s important because as the last part of the resolution of Lightning Bolt, the card is placed in its owner’s graveyard — this is mere moments before state-based actions are checked, meaning that because there is now a land (Misty Rainforest), sorcery (Ponder), and instant (Lightning Bolt) in the graveyard, Tarmogoyf’s power and toughness are now a 3/4 when Lightning Bolt resolves! This means that he is now a 3/4 with 3 damage marked on him, and state-based actions don’t see a creature with lethal damage marked on him, and leave him alone. | ||
|
MoonBear
Straight outta Johto18973 Posts
On April 08 2013 23:17 Shotc oder wrote: No it stays on the stack just like any other card...Damage resolves as the card is cast, not as it hits the yard. To break this down step by step:
| ||
|
Judicator
United States7270 Posts
If you aren't sure, ask a judge, ask google. I visit http://blogs.magicjudges.org/rulestips/ for neat little interactions that may or may not be relevant, usually they are about the current cards and have nice explanations. | ||
|
MoonBear
Straight outta Johto18973 Posts
| ||
|
cLAN.Anax
United States2847 Posts
Is Maze's End a troll card? MTGS linked the word "win" to an "Easter egg".... | ||
| ||